Sunday, December 20, 2009

Official Press Release - Opening Ceremony

Asian Team Chess Championship 2009 has been inaugurated by Sri Pranab Mukherjee, the Union Finance Minister, Govt. of India

Kolkata, 20th December, 2009

Union Finance Minister Sri Pranab Mukherjee inaugurated the Tata Steel Asian Chess Championship by making a symbolic move on a chess board at the Hotel Hindustan International on Sunday. The finance minister also unveiled the champion’s trophies of this premier Asian team championship which is organised by Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy & All Sport Management and will be held at the historic Town Hall.

Speaking on the occasion, Sri Pranab Mukherjee said, “ Chess is a game of intellect, patience and farsightedness. It is not important who wins the trophy, it is the participants spirit that prevails.” He wished all the participating counties a memorable stay in Kolkata “ I am sure the participants will take back happy memories of the city, and a part of India…” he  further added.

Also present on the occasion, were the Mayor of Kolkata, Sri Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, the leader of the CLP Sri Manas Bhuinya, Sri Sanjay Choudhury, Chief, Corporate Communications, Tata Steel, Sri D.V. Sundar , Hony Secretary of All India Chess Federation and Sri Ravindra Dongre, Vice-President of AICF.

Sri D.V. Sundar praised the efforts of Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy and All Sport Management in organising this Mega event.”Dibyendu Barua is the pride not only of Bengal, but also of India. Barua has served India as a chess player and has ventured into organisation. I am sure he will find greater obstacles as an organiser than he must have had as a player, ”  said Sri Sundar in lighter vein.

The championship scheduled to start on December 21, has been postponed by a day due to the late arrival of Bangladesh and Sri Lanka teams. The Bangladesh captain, Niaz Murshed, however, arrived in the city earlier in the evening  and attended the captains meeting. In the captains meeting held late in the evening it was agreed by all the teams that the tournament would  start from Tuesday, December 22.

It was also decided in the captains meeting that no player can agree to a draw before 30 moves. The games will start from 2 p.m everyday.The time limit for each game will be 40 moves in the first one and half hours followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game. In addition there would be 30 seconds increment for each move.

India A teams start as the favourite in both the men’s and women’s sections in this 7 round Swiss league championship which will continue till December 28. As the host country, India will be fielding 2 teams in each category.

No comments:

Post a Comment